Lipscomb Athletics Receives NCAA Division I Certification
Wednesday, August 31, 2005


INDIANAPOLIS _ The NCAA Division I Committee on Athletics Certification announced decisions today concerning the certification status of 16 Division I member institutions that have undergone the Association's second cycle of athletics certification.

Lipscomb University was one of the schools receiving certification.

"NCAA certification was the last step in the long journey of our NCAA transition," said Dr. Steve Flatt, Lipscomb University President. "The process was a very positive and productive one for our campus and helps chart the path for continuous improvement for our athletic programs and the welfare of all of our student athletes."

The purpose of athletics certification is to ensure integrity in the institution's athletics program and to assist institutions in improving their athletics departments. NCAA legislation mandating athletics certification was adopted in 1993.

The certification process, which is a self-study led by an institution's chief executive officer, includes a review of these primary components: governance and commitment to rules compliance; academic integrity; equity; and student-athlete welfare.

A designation of certified means that an institution operates its athletics program in substantial conformity with operating principles adopted by the Division I membership.

"I am extremely pleased with the committee's decision to certify our athletic program," said Dr. Steve Potts, Lipscomb Athletics Director. "Our department has benefited greatly from the self-study and peer review process, and will continue to improve as a result. I am grateful to all those who devoted their time and effort to making this process a success, including members of the University Board, administration, faculty, staff and students."

Additional universities certified:

Birmingham-Southern College Boise State University Charleston Southern University Cleveland State University Colorado State University University of Colorado, Boulder High Point University Indiana University, Bloomington Northwestern University St. Bonaventure University University of Southern California Western Illinois University.

In addition, three Division I institutions have been certified with conditions:

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville Delaware State University University of New Orleans. This classification means that the institution is considered to be operating its athletics program in substantial conformity with operating principles adopted by the NCAA's Division I membership. However, problems identified during the course of the institution's self-study and the peer-review team's evaluation were considered serious enough by the Committee on Athletics Certification to cause it to withhold full certification until those problems have been corrected.

The second round of athletics certifications is being completed on a 10-year cycle rather than the five-year cycle used during the initial certification process. All 326 active Division I members participate in the certification process.

The Division I Committee on Athletics Certification preliminarily reviews an institution's certification materials and provides a list of issues identified during the evaluation. The university then has a period of approximately one year to respond in writing to the issues before a final certification decision is rendered. An institution's failure to satisfactorily respond to the committee may negatively impact certification status.

The certification process is separate from the NCAA's enforcement program, which investigates allegations of rules violations by NCAA member institutions. A decision of certified does not exempt an institution from concurrent or subsequent enforcement proceedings.

The NCAA Committee on Infractions may ask the Committee on Athletics Certification to review an institution's certification status as a result of the completed infractions case.

The members of the Committee on Athletics Certification are: Rita Hartung Cheng, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee; Rich Ensor, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference; John Hardt, Bucknell University; Pat Howey, University of North Carolina, Wilmington; Gerald M. Lage, Oklahoma State University; Leo Lambert, Elon University; Colleen Lim, Yale University; Jamie McCloskey, University of Florida; Fred Mims, University of Iowa; Frank Pergolizzi, Southeastern Louisiana University; Paul Risser (chair), Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education; Dawn Rogers, Xavier University; Mary Ann Rohleder, Indiana