Bisons Headed To A-Sun Tourney For The First Time
Monday, May 21, 2007

May 21, 2007

The Lipscomb Bisons baseball team is headed to the Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament for the first time in school history.

Despite only going 1-2 against Jacksonville University in the final road series of the season, the Bisons earned the sixth seed in this week's Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament presented by Progress Energy to be held in Deland, Fla.

By earning the sixth spot in the tournament, the Bisons will face regular season champion and tournament host Stetson University. The Bisons will make their postseason debut on Wednesday, May 23 when they take on the Hatters at 6:00 p.m. CT on Melching Field at Conrad Park in Deland, Fla.

The Hatters have won the last two tournament championships, and are the favorites for a three-peat this year. However, in recent years the sixth seed has had success against the top seed in the tournament. Gardner-Webb beat No 1 seed Troy as the six seed in 2005, and Jacksonville won the championship as a six seed in 2003. Jacksonville was the last sixth seed to win the tournament championship in 2003.

In three games this season, the Bisons went 1-2 against the Hatters at Ken Dugan Field. The Bisons dropped a double-header against Stetson with identical 7-3 scores in both games. The Bisons did collect a 4-1 victory over the Hatters in the final game of the three game series.

In both loses to the Hatters, the Bisons had their chances to win the games down the stretch but just got some bad breaks in the final innings.

The rest of the tournament field is compiled of the No. 2 seed Mercer, the No. 3 seed Belmont, the No. 4 seed Jacksonville, and the No. 5 seed Gardner-Webb.

Stetson, Mercer and Jacksonville have all won multiple Atlantic Sun tournament titles. The Hatters lead the way with six titles. Mercer has won three titles, the most recent coming in 1983. Jacksonville's most recent of their two titles came in 2003.

Every game of the championship will be videostreamed (available on a subscription basis) through a partnership of Stetson University, XoS and the Atlantic Sun Conference. Fans can purchase a subscription for the entire championship for just $9.95.

For more information on the 2007 Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament presented by Progress Energy, click here:

A-Sun Tournament Championship Information