Ben Williams named Ken Dugan Award winner for 2008
Wednesday, May 14, 2008

May 14, 2008


Infielder Ben Williams has become the first Lipscomb University baseball player to win the Ken Dugan Award two times in his career.

The honor is the highest that a Bisons baseball player can receive. It was established in 2001 in honor of Lipscomb's legendary baseball coach.

Williams also won the award in 2007.

It is presented each year to the Bisons player who best displays the following characteristics:

• a commitment to excellence as a baseball player

• an uncommon display of Christian character

• a burning desire to be a true champion

• outstanding leadership qualities

• an unbridled passion for the game of baseball

Williams is a senior from Hahira, Ga., near Valdosta. He is majoring in communications.

Prior winners of the award are Larry Nesbitt (2001), Jeremy George (2002), Chris Parker (2003), Derek Caraway (2004), Seth Kuwik (2005) and Todd Brewer (2006).