Atlantic Sun Conference honors Bison baseball foursome
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Atlantic Sun Conference honors Bison baseball foursome

MACON, Ga. – A quartet of Lipscomb baseball players have garnered 2014 postseason honors announced by the Atlantic Sun Conference.

Sophomore pitcher Denton Norman was named to the A-Sun All-Academic Team, while junior shortstop Grant Massey and junior pitcher Ian Martinez-McGraw picked up 2nd-team All-Atlantic Sun laurels.  Redshirt-freshman catcher Tyler Bethune rounded out the honorees being named to the 2014 Atlantic Sun All-Freshman team.

The Sunday starter for all of 2014 and the reigning A-Sun Pitcher of the Week, Norman posted a 7-5 record including a 5-3 mark in A-Sun play for the Bisons this season. The Katy, Texas native leads the team starters in league play with a 2.87 ERA in nine starts on the hill. In the classroom, Norman boasts a 3.42 GPA in pre-med /Biology.

Massey has been a leader for the Bisons this season at the plate and in the field.  The Auburn, Alabama native leads the team in batting average (.310), runs scored (44), doubles (17), total bases (99) and on-base percentage (.418).  Massey has also been a big part of the Bisons turning 56 double plays this year, a figure that ranks sixth best in the nation.

Posting a 7-1 mark in conference play including the only win over FGCU in the first game of a series this season, Martinez-McGraw leads the team with an 8-3 mark that ties the school record for most wins in a season.  The knuckleballer has made 14 starts on the season tossing a team-high 95.1 innings and notching a 4.06 ERA.

Hitting .306 in conference play Bethune is the first Bison freshman to make the All-Freshman team since Lee Wilson was named to the squad in 2010.  The backstop has started 28 games behind the dish for the Bisons hitting .268 overall.  The Lawrenceville, Georgia native has gunned down 10 would-be base stealers this season and allowed just one passed ball.

The Bisons open play in the 2014 Atlantic Sun Conference Baseball Championship in Ft. Myers, Florida on Wednesday night at 7:15 p.m. against Jacksonville.