Skip to main content

Baseball > News

Lipscomb Athletics celebrates with 2017 Lippys
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Lipscomb Athletics celebrates with 2017 Lippys

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Lipscomb Athletics came together on Wednesday night in Allen Arena to celebrate the achievements over the past year with the 2017 Lippy Awards.

The nearly 300 student-athletes and staff members donned their best dresses and suits to come together and honor the best Bisons and Lady Bisons.

The awards went to:

James R. Byers Award – Presented to the top senior male and female athlete who displays outstanding Christian leadership and excels academically and athletically.
Anna Buhigas – Women’s Soccer
Kayla Ostrom – Volleyball
Wayne Newman – Track and Field

Matt Deary Award – Presented to a student-athlete, who inspires and encourages others to be better people
Alex Banks – Women’s Basketball

Our Team Award – Presented to someone who contributes to Lipscomb Athletics that is not directly affiliated with athletics or would not be normally recognized for contribution.
Lipscomb Athletic Training Staff

Scholar Athlete of the Year
Kayla Ostrom – Volleyball

Team of the Year

Female Athlete of the Year
Carlyle Nusbaum – Volleyball

Male Athlete of the Year
Brady Puckett

Coach of the Year
Casey Alexander – Men’s Basketball

Assistant Coach of the Year
Billy Ebel – Volleyball

Best Team Record Breaking Performance
Women’s Cross Country – Six-straight ASUN Championships

Best Individual Record Breaking Performance
Anna Buhgias – Most Career Shutouts

Female Freshman of the Year
Olivia Doak – Women’s Soccer

Male Freshman of the Year
Kenny Cooper – Men’s Basketball