Skip to main content

Baseball > News

Lipscomb Athletics celebrates with 2017-18 season Lippy's
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Lipscomb Athletics celebrates with 2017-18 season Lippy's

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Lipscomb Athletics came together last Wednesday night in Allen Arena to celebrate the achievements over the past year with the 2018 Lippy Awards.

While Lipscomb’s Director of Spiritual Formation – Chris Klotz – and sophomore track & field athlete – Ahmed Amaar – teamed up to emcee the event, nearly 300 student-athletes and staff members donned their best dresses and suits to come together and honor the best Bisons and Lady Bisons.

The awards went to:

James R. Byers Award – Presented to the top senior male and female athlete who displays outstanding Christian leadership and excels academically and athletically.
Ellen Lundy – Women’s Soccer
Lee Solomon – Baseball

Matt Deery Award – Presented to a student-athlete, who inspires and encourages others to be better people
Wayne Newman – Track and Field 

Our Team Award – Presented to someone who contributes to Lipscomb Athletics that is not directly affiliated with athletics or would not be normally recognized for contribution.
The Lipscomb Student Managers: Greg VanMaaren (Baseball), Zack Olley (Men’s Basketball), Caroline Wasserman (Softball) and Parker Smith (Women’s Basketball).

Team of the Year
Men’s Basketball 

Female Athlete of the Year
Carlyle Nusbaum – Volleyball (Second Consecutive Win) 

Male Athlete of the Year
Dawson Armstrong – Men’s Golf 

Coach of the Year
Casey Alexander – Men’s Basketball (Second Consecutive Win) 

Co-Scholar Athletes of the Year
Kacey Kemper – Women’s Cross Country 
Logan Paynter – Men’s Soccer

Assistant Coaching Staff of the Year
Men’s Basketball - Roger Idstrom, Steve Drabyn, Sean Rutigliano and Adam Notteboom

Best Team Record Breaking Performance
Men’s Basketball – First-ever NCAA Tournament Appearance

Best Individual Record Breaking Performance
Dawson Armstrong (Men’s Golf) – Sank 143 birdies in a season, shot 65 to set the College Grove course record

Female Freshman of the Year
Lauren Flynt – Women’s Cross Country

Male Freshman of the Year
Silas Griffith – Men’s Cross Country

Best Comeback of the Year
Men’s Soccer – Became first No. 6 seed in ASUN history to win the conference tournament, giving the Bisons their first championship in program history.

International Player of the Year
Vika Dzyuba – Women’s Tennis 

Athletic Administrator of the Year
Frank Bennett (Third Consecutive Win)