Lipscomb's Hutcheson named A-Sun AD Delegate
Tuesday, July 6, 2010
Lipscomb's Hutcheson named A-Sun AD Delegate
MACON, Ga. – The Atlantic Sun Conference announced the election of its officers for the 2010-11 academic year. UNF President John Delaney succeeds Bill Underwood (Mercer) as the Conference President and Chair of the Presidents Council. Kennesaw State President Dr. Daniel Papp will serve as Vice Chair of the Presidents Council and Chair of the Finance Committee.

As A-Sun President, Delaney will preside over Presidents Council meetings, Management Committee meetings, and the Executive Committee. Those joining Delaney as officers on the Executive Committee include Kennesaw State’s Director of Athletics, Dr. Dave Waples, as the Vice President. ETSU’s Senior Associate Athletic Director Barbie Breedlove retains her role as A-Sun Secretary. Dr. Rich Tiner, Belmont’s Faculty Athletic Representative, remains the FAR delegate and Philip Hutcheson, Lipscomb’s Athletics Director will serve as the AD delegate.

The Management Committee includes the athletics directors, senior woman administrators and the faculty athletic representatives from each of the 11 member institutions. The Management Committee, along with all standing committees, conducts in-person meetings twice each academic year (October and June). The Presidents Council meets twice a year as well, after the Management Committee.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

This release was provided by the Atlantic Sun Conference.