Lipscomb's Scott Sanderson named A-Sun Coach of the Year
Wednesday, March 1, 2006

March 1, 2006

Lipscomb's Scott Sanderson received Atlantic Sun Conference Coach of the Year honors after helping lead the Bisons from a 4-16 league mark three seasons ago to 15-5 co-champions this year.

The Bisons head into the A-Sun Conference Tournament as the No. 1 seed. The Bisons played No. 8-seed Mercer at noon Thursday at East Tennessee State University in Johnson City.

Two Bisons were also named to the A-Sun All-Conference First Team _ junior guard Brian Fisk and sophomore forward Eddie Ard. Fisk and Ard have consistently been the top two scorers for the Bisons this season.

Ard leads with an average of 16.4 points per game. Fisk is second with an average of 16.2 points per game. The Bisons dynamic duo both rank in the top-10 in the conference in scoring.

The awards are selected by the coaches around the A-Sun Conference.

Two Bisons were named to the Atlantic Sun All-Academic Team _ Senior guard James Poindexter and freshman center Kris Alpers.

Poindexter is majoring in Interdisciplinary education. Alpers is a pre-pharmacy major.

To be named A-Sun All-Academic, a student-athlete must achieve a 3.0 or higher GPA in the classroom.