A-Sun to introduce replay system for basketball games
Thursday, July 1, 2010
A-Sun to introduce replay system for basketball games

MACON, Ga. – The Atlantic Sun Conference recently concluded its annual spring meetings of athletics directors, senior woman administrators and faculty athletic representatives. Among the issues the membership approved were a replay system for men’s and women’s basketball and the creation of new academic honors.

In men’s and women’s basketball, the Atlantic Sun will provide standard equipment to each institution to begin utilizing instant replay abilities for all home games. The schools will have an individual dedicated to video replay duties during all games.

The conference will institute three new levels of academic recognition for the league’s student-athletes beginning in 2010-11. Student-athletes with a minimum of 48 credit hours at the institution and a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.400 or above would earn Conference Scholar recognition. Should a student-athlete post a cumulative GPA between 3.600 and 3.799 at the conclusion of their final year of eligibility, that student-athlete would receive the Commissioner’s Scholar recognition. If a student-athlete earns at least 3.800 cumulative GPA at the conclusion of their final year of eligibility, that student-athlete would receive the Presidents’ Scholar recognition.

"The student-athletes of the Atlantic Sun have a long-standing tradition of tremendous achievement in the classroom, including a record-breaking 60 percent earning All-Academic honors this year,” Atlantic Sun Commissioner Ted Gumbart said. "These additional levels of honors for our student-athletes that reach elite levels of academic excellence provide well-deserved recognition for such outstanding performance."

The membership approved a requirement to have the A-Sun logo placed on all team uniforms (all uniforms, all sports).

During a reception, the conference recognized ETSU as the winner of the Bill Bibb Combined All-Sports Race and the Jesse C. Fletcher Men's All Sports Race. The league presented Kennesaw State the Sherman Day Trophy in recognition of winning the Women's All Sports Race. Commissioner Ted Gumbart announced Belmont’s Brittany Thune and ETSU’s Paul Hoilman as the winners of the A-Sun Scholar Athletes of the Year. The conference also presented Bobby Pope, the outgoing Mercer Director of Athletics, a plaque commemorating Pope’s 19 years as the leader of Mercer athletic program.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

Release provided by the Atlantic Sun Conference