Men's hoops championship to air on ESPN
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
By Atlantic Sun Conference
Men's hoops championship to air on ESPN

MACON, Ga. - The 2016-17 ASUN Men’s Basketball season culminates on March 5th with the Conference Championship Final broadcasting on ESPN at 2 p.m. Both the quarterfinal and semifinals contests can be seen on the WatchESPN platform for the sixth-straight season.

The ASUN’s partnership with ESPN first began in 1989 with the airing of the league’s Men’s Basketball Final and has grown exponentially through the conference’s ESPN3 On-Campus Initiative, which began in the fall of 2012. Since its inception, ESPN has collaborated with the ASUN to adopt the conference-wide on-campus production model.

A total of 438 home on-campus broadcasts were produced during the 2015-16 season - up from 266 the 2014-15 season - and included a record 124 men’s basketball contests. For the second-straight season, all ASUN men’s & women’s conference basketball games were broadcast on ESPN3, with coverage expanding this season to include all home men’s basketball games.

Last year’s ASUN Championship Final - won by FGCU in overtime against Stetson - earned a primetime slot with a 7 p.m. ET tip and saw an increase of viewership by 59 percent on ESPN2, while growing by 139 percent through WatchESPN viewership. A total of 374,000 people tuned in for the thrilling overtime contest.

The ASUN Conference is a NCAA Division I league with eight member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The ASUN meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the ASUN footprint reaches into seven of the top 50 media markets in the nation. The ASUN includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.