Skip to main content

Men's Basketball > News

Asadullah earns NABC First Team All-District honors
Monday, March 23, 2020
By Kirk Downs
Asadullah earns NABC First Team All-District honors

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Already named a First-Team All-ASUN selection, Lipscomb sophomore center Ahsan Asadullah has now been named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) District III First Team, announced by the organization on Monday.

“Ahsan had an amazing year for us from start to finish,” Lipscomb head coach Lennie Acuff said. “His ability to score, get his teammates shots with elite passing and control the glass on both ends made him one of the best post players in the country.

“I’m extremely happy to see Ahsan getting the recognition he so rightly deserves.”

The Atlanta, Georgia native averaged a team best 18.6 PPG, 10.1 RPG and 3.9 APG, becoming only the third player (Ben Simmons – LSU) in the country since the 1992-93 season to record that season line. Those numbers ranked him second in the ASUN in each category. He also ranked first in field goals made (252), sixth in total blocks (36) and seventh in both field-goal percentage (52.0) and total steals (36).

In the conference tournament Asadullah upped his play to average 29.6 points, 14.0 rebounds and 3.3 assists per game. In the process he broke three ASUN Tournament records: total points (89), total rebounds (42) and field goals made in a single game (18 vs. FGCU).

He also became the first player in the ASUN with at least 450 points, 250 rebounds and 100 assists in a single campaign since the 2007-08 season.

Asadullah posted 15 double-doubles, 16 games of double-digit boards and 12 games of 20 or more points in helping the Bisons to a third-place finish in the league standings.

His 122 total assists were the second most of any center or forward in the country this season after totaling 11 games with five or more helpers, including a career-high nine at North Florida on Feb. 22nd.

Asadullah is the third Bison to earn NABC First Team honors, joining Adnan Hodzic (2010) and Garrison Mathews (2018-19).

He was joined on the District Three first team by Caleb Homesley (Liberty), Carlik Jones (Radford), Rob Perry (Stetson) and Jermaine Morrow (Hampton).

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC in NCAA Division I, these student-athletes and coaches represent the finest basketball players and coaches across America.