Muller leads Bisons in Oregon race
Sunday, October 3, 2010
Muller leads Bisons in Oregon race
Tim Muller (SO – Denver, Colo.) led the way again for the Lipscomb Bisons, finishing first for the team and 33rd overall at the Willamette Invitational in Salem, Ore. He covered the 8000m course in 24:51, the second best 8-K time in Lipscomb history.

As a team the men finished 12th out of 23 teams. The University of Portland (ranked 10th in the nation) won the men’s competition.

Muller was followed by Isaiah Greer (SO – Johnson City, Tenn.) 62nd in 25:25, Geoff Musick (SO – Nashville, Tenn.) 72nd in 25:31, Benton Reed (JR – Scottsboro, Ala.) 105th in 26:12, and Mike Yang (SO – Long Island, N.Y.) 110th in 26:18, with Hunter Hethcoat (JR -–Franklin, Tenn.) rounding out the Lipscomb finishers in 27:29.

“Tim has been very steady this season, leading our men in every race,” head coach Bill Taylor said. “He’s really matured a ton as a racer from last year and is very consistent and much smoother this year.

“I think Tim has a great chance to earn All-Conference honors this year. It will be a tough fight up front in the conference race, but he’s right in there if he keeps doing what he is doing.”

The top five runners ran all time PRs.

“That was nice,” Taylor said. “Hunter has been sick and missed a PR, but he battled out there despite not being at his best.

“The men’s team as a whole is in the same situation it has been in all season. We’re not bad, but we are still too gapped and we still don’t have a five yet. That could change in two weeks. Until it does we are a pretty average team. I’m hoping something changes in the final month of the season. I think we all are.”

At Louisville the men’s B team finished sixth in the silver race. The top two finishers for Lipscomb were Jeff Hoover (SR – Dickson, Tenn.) and Ben Wright (SO – Vincennes, Ind.) who finished 29th and 30th, both in 27:16 for the 8000-meter course.

The rest of the Lipscomb finishers were Ashton Fisher (SO – Ellsworth, Mich.) in 27:38, Cormac Carolan (JR – Peachtree City, Ga.) 27:56, Jonathan Williams (SR – Knoxville, Tenn.) 28:02, Aaron Todd (JR – Bedford, IL) 28:09, Justin Weise (FR – Cedar Park, Texas) 28:38, Cliff Denton (FR – Madison, Ala.) 28:44, Phillip Brasher (FR – Franklin, Tenn.) 29:26 and Jonathan Carmody (FR – Brentwood, Tenn.) 32:54.

The Bisons will take next weekend off from competition before competing in the last regular season race of the year, with the top men going to the Chile Pepper Invite in Fayetteville, Ark., and the rest going to the Evansville Invite in Evansville, Ind.