Skip to main content

Men's Golf > News

Hale earns A-Sun All-Conference First Team
Wednesday, May 7, 2008
Hale earns A-Sun All-Conference First Team

May 7, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

MACON, Ga. - Despite finishing second at last month's Atlantic Sun Men's Golf Championship, ETSU individuals won the conference's two major awards as Gareth Shaw earned Player of the Year and Rhys Enoch captured Freshman of the Year honors, the conference office announced on Tuesday.

Shaw, a senior from Lisburn, Northern Ireland also earned a spot on the First Team by virtue of earning Medalist honors at the Championship. Shaw, currently ranked No. 16 in the country in the latest ratings finished the regular season with six top-ten finishes in addition to his win at The Woodlands Course at Chateau Elan. Recently, Shaw also earned a spot on the European team for the Palmer Cup, an annual Ryder Cup-style competition featuring the top collegiate players from the United States and Europe for the second straight year. Shaw joins former ETSU great Rhys Davis as winners of the A-Sun Player of the Year award. Davis won in both 2006 and 2007 meaning the ETSU golfers have been named Player of the Year every year in which the Buccaneers have been part of the Atlantic Sun.

In addition to his Freshman of the Year award, Enoch joined Shaw on the First Team and earned a unanimous selection to the All-Freshman Team. Enoch opened the fall season with three top tens in his first four collegiate starts and closed the year finishing second to Shaw at the A-Sun Championship, falling by a single stroke to his teammate. Enoch follows teammate Seamus Power as back-to-back Buccaneers to win the conference's Freshman of the Year award. Power made his second straight appearance on the Second Team.

USC Upstate's Josh Gallman enjoyed the most success throughout the fall and spring golf seasons, winning four tournaments including the Stetson Fall Invitational and the Lonnie D. Small Spring Classic, Campbell's event. He posted eight top-five finishes in 11 events and finished outside the top 10 only once. Lipscomb's Cody Hale returned to the First Team for the first time since 2005 on the heels of winning the Mission Inn Collegiate Classic in the fall, recording five top-five finishes and never posting a finish worse than a tie for 20th. Campbell's Fredric Sundberg closed out his college career with his second appearance on the First Team, joining Shaw as the only golfers to make the First Team each of the last two years. He won the Belmont Fall Shootout in the fall.

UNF, the winner of the A-Sun Championship, placed Michael O'Neal on the Second Team, Chris Kennedy on the All-Freshman team and head coach Scott Schroeder earned the Coach of the Year award. The Ospreys and Buccaneers face each other one more time this year as both received bids to the East Regional of the NCAA Championships, set to begin on May 15 from the Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tenn. Kennedy joins