Skip to main content

Men's Golf > News

Suggs, Parkinson finish in tie for 22nd in A-Sun Tournament
Wednesday, April 22, 2009
Suggs, Parkinson finish in tie for 22nd in A-Sun Tournament
Gusting winds and hardening greens brought scores up across the board at The Creek Course at Keith Hills Country Club, but Campbell finished off a wire-to-wire victory in the 2009 Atlantic Sun Men’s Golf Championship, winning by seven shots.

The Lipscomb Bisons closed out the tournament in 11th place Wednesday. They shot 916 as a team (309, 294, 313), a score of 52-over- par. Campbell University won the tournament with a team score of 867, three-over-par.

Clint Suggs and Cory Parkinson were the leaders for the Bisons. They both finished in a tie for 22nd with a three-round score of 223. Suggs, who started the day tied for 31st place fired rounds of 78, 71 and 74. Parkinson, who began the third round in a tie for seventh, shot rounds of 72, 69 and 82.

Dylan Waters was 49th with a score of 235 (82, 75, 78). Samuel Marcrom tied for 50th with scores of 77, 79 and 80 for a three-round total of 236.

Brandon Mundie shot an 81 in the last round for the Bisons. He finished in 54th place with a score of 245. He shot 84 and 80 in the first two rounds.

After two rounds of play that featured 19 of 22 team scores under 300, only three schools, Mercer, ETSU and Stetson broke that mark as winds howled throughout the round, at times blowing resting golf balls off the putting green. Campbell’s score, 302, tied for the fourth-best of the day. The Camels closest competition entering the round, UNF, could only match Campbell in finishing second for the fourth time in five years, all to different winners.

Camel sophomore Zak Drescher, who won 2008 U.S. Amateur sectional qualifier on The Creek Course, registered one of the two sub-par rounds of the day, a one-under, 71, moving up from a tie for 37th to his final position, a tie for 14th. Freshman Vaita Guillaume, the two-day leader, closed with a four-over, 76, to finish as the runner-up. Matt Moot and Isak Pettersen joined Drescher as part of a seven-way tie for 14th. On the individual side,

ETSU’s Michael Stewart joined Gareth Shaw last season and his teammate, Seamus Power in 2007, as the third straight Buccaneer to win the A-Sun’s Medalist honor. Like Power two years ago, Stewart won as a freshman. He improved from a tie for 10th to the top spot on the strength of the day’s other under-par round, also a one-under, 71, to finish at three-under, 213. After a two-over start on his first nine holes, Stewart carded three straight birdies followed by three straight pars to claim victory. The 27th-ranked Buccaneers moved up to fourth from seventh.

Mercer picked up its best showing since 1993, finishing third, two strokes in back of UNF and nine behind the winning Camels. Four Bears, Ryan Blackburn, Bill Jones III, Matt Tribby and Andres Pumariega shot 75 or better in posting the best team score of the round, a seven-over, 295. The Bears’ two seniors, Blackburn and Jones III finished in the top five to earn All-Tournament honors. Blackburn finished alone in third at one-under, 215 after shooting an even-par, 72, on Wednesday. Jones III shot a two-over, 74, to share fifth with Stetson’s Tommy Parker and USC Upstate’s Josh Gallman.

FGCU closed out its inaugural Atlantic Sun Championship in fifth place followed by Stetson and USC Upstate. Kennesaw State, third entering Wednesday, finished eighth with Jacksonville, Belmont and Lipscomb rounding out the field.

The Atlantic Sun Conference media relations staff contributed to this story.