Farmer named to A-Sun All-Freshman Team
Friday, June 18, 2010
Farmer named to A-Sun All-Freshman Team
Lipscomb University’s Blanton Farmer has been named to the Atlantic Sun Conference All-Freshman Team.

He joins Kennesaw State’s Ben Green, North Florida’s Kevin Phelan and William Meason and Matt Kocolowski from Mercer on the team.

“Blanton is the hardest worker on the team,” Lipscomb golf coach Buddy Harston said. “You want the best player on the team to be the hardest worker and he is.

“His drives are very straight. He has the best short game on the team. That is a great combination.”

Farmer, from Lexington, Ky., played in nine tournaments as a freshman, averaging 75.17 per round over 24 rounds. His best round was a 69 in the Mason Rudolph Invitational Sept. 26-27, 2009.

Farmer led the Bisons in the Atlantic Sun Conference Championship with a three-round score of 231 (76, 76, 79).

He is the first Bisons' golfer to be named to the All-Freshman team since 2004-2005.

Fans can follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and on Facebook. Visit to begin receiving updates on conference news, weekly awards, and from A-Sun championships. Atlantic Sun followers with a Facebook account can become a "fan" of the conference by

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.