Armstrong named A-Sun Golfer of the Year
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Armstrong named A-Sun Golfer of the Year

MACON, Ga. – Continuing part of a record-setting season, Lipscomb sophomore Dawson Armstrong has been named the Atlantic Sun Conference Men’s Golfer of the Year as announced by the league on Thursday.

Becoming the first Lipscomb golfer in school history to claim the award, Armstrong was selected by the A-Sun coaches for his tremendous play in 2015-16.  The Brentwood, Tennessee native paced the conference with a 71.45 scoring average this season, was named to the Ben Hogan Award watch list and notched nine, top-10 finishes.

“This is great news for Dawson,” said Lipscomb director of golf Will Brewer. “He’s really played well over the course of the last year. This is a great honor for Lipscomb and for Dawson.  I’m really proud of him, who he is and who he’s becoming.”

Along with earning Player of the Year honors, Armstrong was also a unanimous First-Team All-Conference selection marking the second consecutive year that he has claimed First-Team honors.  He joins Cody Hale as the only-two time all-conference selections in school history.  Armstrong has claimed a pair of collegiate tournament titles this season with wins in the Collegiate Classic and the Memphis Intercollegiate.

“Dawson has one desire and that’s to get better,” said Brewer. “I think that infectious attitude is pulling the team along with him.  He’s building everybody on the team up and giving us the confidence to do amazing things.”

Since becoming the first golfer in school history to advance to the NCAA regional tournament in May 2015, Armstrong has also claimed amateur medalist honors at the Dogwood Invitational and the prestigious Western Amateur joining former winners Tiger Woods, Phil Mickleson and Jack Nicklaus. Armstrong is currently ranked the No. 13 amateur player in the world by Golfweek.

Armstrong and the Bisons await next Thursday’s announcement of the 2016 NCAA regional tournament bids.  Lipscomb is expected to receive an at-large bid to advance to the championship for the first time in school history.