Armstrong named Jack Nicklaus Award semifinalist
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Armstrong named Jack Nicklaus Award semifinalist

NORMAN, Oklahoma – On the heels of winning back-to-back ASUN Conference Men’s Golfer of the Year honors, Lipscomb’s Dawson Armstrong has been named a semifinalist for the prestigious Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol that is awarded annually to the nation’s top golfer in each division.

“This is another exciting honor for Dawson to be included in this group,” said Lipscomb director of golf Will Brewer.  “It is a direct result of his hard work and we are appreciative of the Golf Coaches Association of America for recognizing him for his efforts.  He has won three tournaments this year and we are looking forward to the next couple of weeks of play as we head into the NCAA tournament.”

The Brentwood, Tennessee native is joined by 29 of the top golfers around the country on the list. That list of 30 will be trimmed to a list of finalists on May 25th before the award is presented on June 1 at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide at Muirfield Village Golf Club.

“Dawson is in great company with an elite group of golfers,” said Brewer.  “When you look at the top 30 or 40 golfers in the country, there is not a lot of difference between No. 5 and No. 35.”

The five Jack Nicklaus Award recipients from NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA and NJCAA levels will compete in the Barbasol Shootout on June 3 at the Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio, the same club where Jack Nicklaus learned to play golf as a youngster. The winner of that shootout will receive an exemption into the PGA Tour’s Barbasol Championship, hosted July 20-23 at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National in Opelika, Alabama.

Joining Armstrong as semifinalists are:

Sam Burns, LSU

Cameron Champ, Texas A&M

Wyndham Clark, Oregon

Sean Crocker, Southern California

Cristobal Del Solar, Florida State

Jared du Toit, Arizona State

Doug Ghim, Texas

Nick Hardy, Illinois

Rico Hoey, Southern California

Sam Horsfield, Florida

Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt

Patrick Martin, Vanderbilt

Maverick McNealy, Stanford

Dylan Meyer, Illinois

Collin Morikawa, California

Kyle Mueller, Michigan

John Oda, UNLV

Zachary Olsen, Oklahoma State

Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M

Doc Redman, Clemson

Matthias Schwab, Vanderbilt

Greyson Sigg, Georgia

Jimmy Stanger, Virginia

Sahith Theegala, Pepperdine

Braden Thornberry, Mississippi

Alejandro Tosti, Florida

Dylan Wu, Northwestern

Norman Xiong, Oregon

Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest