Men's golf earns No. 6 seed in NCAA College Grove regional
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Men's golf earns No. 6 seed in NCAA College Grove regional

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – For the second straight season, the Lipscomb men’s golf team is headed to the NCAA Tournament as the Bisons were selected as a No. 6 seed in the championship on Thursday.  The announcement was made live on the Golf Channel that the Purple and Gold will stay close to home to compete in the College Grove Regional hosted by Middle Tennessee State University May 15-17 in College Grove, Tennessee.

“We kind of had an idea where we would go but it’s really exciting,” said Lipscomb director of golf Will Brewer. “Once you pass milestones like making consecutive appearances, you think ‘What’s next?’ but that’s the nature of coaching and we want to continue to trend in an upward direction.”

Lipscomb will be joined in the 13-team field by: No. 1 Vanderbilt, No. 2 Texas Tech, No. 3 Clemson, No. 4 Georgia, No. 5 Missouri, No. 7 Kennesaw State, No. 8 UCF, No. 9 Middle Tennessee, No. 10 TCU, No. 11 Troy, No. 12 ETSU and No. 13 Harvard.

“We are up against a challenging field for sure,” said Brewer. “We’ve played against a lot of the teams in the field and beaten some that are ranked ahead of us.  So I feel good about our chances this year.  We’ll be prepared.  If our mental mindset and focus are strong and we don’t try too hard I think we’ll be fine.”

The Bisons look to build upon the 2016 NCAA Tuscaloosa Regional where the squad posted an 8th-place finish.

Herd notes:

  • The Bisons No. 6 seed is the highest seed of any team in school history.
  • Lipscomb’s last appearance at the Grove came in October 2015 when the team finished second in the Intercollegiate at the Grove. The Bisons finished behind Kentucky in the nearby event.
  • The Grove sits just 29 miles south of the Lipscomb campus off of Interstate 840.
  • 81 teams make up the championship field. The top five teams in each region will advance to the NCAA Championship hosted at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Illinois.  The top individual not on one of the five advancing teams will also move on to the championship.
  • The ASUN Conference placed four of its seven teams (Lipscomb, Kennesaw State, Jacksonville and North Florida) in the field.
  • Admission is free for fans.