Skip to main content

Men's Golf > News

Armstrong named to 2018 Ben Hogan Award watch list
Friday, February 16, 2018
By Logan Butts
Armstrong named to 2018 Ben Hogan Award watch list

FORT WORTH, Texas – Lipscomb men’s golfer Dawson Armstrong will have another achievement to add to his long list of accomplishments after the senior was named to the 2018 Ben Hogan award watch list on Wednesday.

Armstrong was one of 27 student-athletes named to the list for the award, which is given out annually to the top men’s collegiate golfer during the 12-month period from June to May.

The Nashville native is looking to build to build upon an already-stellar career with one final go around this spring.

Last season, Armstrong was named a Golf Week All-American, finished 16th at the NCAA National Championships, won his second consecutive ASUN Player of the Year award, was named to the ASUN All-Conference First-Team for the third consecutive year, and increased his ASUN Player of the Week record total to nine.

The list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 11.

On Wednesday, May 2, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The winner will then be crowed on May 21.

The other members of the 2018 watch list include: Braden Bailey (Baylor), Shintaro Ban (UNLV), Zach Bauchou (Oklahoma State), Chandler Blanchet (West Florida), Brad Dalke (Oklahoma), Harry Ellis (Florida State), Patrick Fishburn (BYU), Steven Fisk (Georgia Southern), Doug Ghim (Texas), Will Gordon (Vanderbilt), Theo Humphrey (Vanderbilt), S.M. Lee (Dalton State), Patrick Martin (Vanderbilt), Dylan Meyer (Illinois), Collin Morikawa (California), Fredrik Nilehn (Texas Tech), Bryson Nimmer (Clemson), Mason Overstreet (Arkansas), Chandler Phillips (Texas A&M), Doc Redman (Clemson), Davis Riley (Alabama), Justin Suh (Southern California), Sahith Theegala (Pepperdine), Braden Thornberry (Ole Miss), Brandon Wu (Stanford), and Norman Xiong (Oregon).

The Ben Hogan Trophy was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards. In 2002, the Ben Hogan Award moved to Fort Worth, Texas, and revised its criteria to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Winners of the Ben Hogan Award include seven golfers currently ranked in the top 100 in the Official World Gold Rankings—Jon Rahm, Rickie Fowler, Patrick Cantlay, Kyle Stanley, Peter Uihlein, Bill Haas, and Ryan Moore.