Skip to main content

Men's Golf > News

Armstrong tabbed Golfweek All-American
Monday, June 18, 2018
By Kirk Downs
Armstrong tabbed Golfweek All-American

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The honors continue to roll in for former Lipscomb golfer Dawson Armstrong as he has been named a second team All-American by Golfweek. He is one of just three players from a non-BCS program to be named to one of the top three teams.

Armstrong is the only player in the program’s history to earn All-America honors by the publication and he has now done so in back-to-back seasons after landing a spot on the third team in 2017.

The Brentwood, Tennessee native averaged a program-best 70.26 strokes per round in his final season for Lipscomb where he took home a trio of medalist honors at the Bayou City Collegiate (-12, 204), Ryman Hospitality Intercollegiate (-5, 208) and the ASUN Championship (-7, 135). Those events gave him 10 tournament titles in four seasons as a Bison.

For his efforts in 2018, Armstrong became just the second player in league history to ever earn three ASUN Golfer of the Year awards. He was also the seventh player to ever earn all-conference recognition in four straight seasons.

He set another conference milestone by collecting his 13th-career ASUN Men’s Golfer of the Week award, breaking the ASUN’s record for most weekly honors by a single player in any sport.

Armstrong produced 25 rounds at par or better while draining 132 birdies and a program record seven eagles.

By winning the ASUN Championship for a second consecutive seasons, Armstrong earned an automatic invitation as an individual into the NCAA Tournament and was chosen to compete in the Raleigh, North Carolina Regional. However, his decision to turn professional in time for a Tour stop in Nashville kept him from competing for a fourth straight season.

He finished the season ranked 14th in the nation in the Golfstat Cup rankings and 16th in the World Amateur Golf Rankings before turning pro.



Collin Morikawa (Cal) – Player of the Year
Norman Xiong (Oregon)
Justin Suh (USC)
Doug Ghim (Texas)
Matthew Wolff (Oklahoma State)
Viktor Hovland (Oklahoma State)
Shintaro Ban (UNLV)
Fredrik Nilehn (Texas Tech)
Braden Thornberry (Mississippi)
Chandler Phillips (Texas A&M)

Theo Humphrey (Vanderbilt)
Dawson Armstrong (Lipscomb)
Nick Hardy (Illinois)
Zach Bauchou (Oklahoma State)
Lorenzo Scalise (Tennessee)
Doc Redman (Clemson)
Kyle Mueller (Michigan)
Bryson Nimmer (Clemson)
Lee Hodges (Alabama)
Stephen Franken (N.C. State)

Garrett May (Baylor)
Davis Riley (Alabama)
Will Gordon (Vanderbilt)
Luis Gagne (LSU)
Sahith Theegala (Pepperdine)
Brad Dalke (Oklahoma)
Hayden Buckley (Missouri)
Scottie Scheffler (Texas)
George Cunningham (Arizona)
Dylan Meyer (Illinois)

Brandon Mancheno (Auburn)
John Pak (Florida State)
Cameron Young (Wake Forest)
Alex Smalley (Duke)
Turk Pettit (Clemson)
Patrick Fishburn (BYU)
Kristoffer Ventura (Oklahoma State)
Brandon Wu (Stanford)
Ian Holt (Kent State)
Spencer Ralston (Georgia)
John Augenstein (Vanderbilt)
Quade Cummins (Oklahoma)
Matthew Perrine (Baylor)
Stefano Mazzoli (TCU)
Andy Zhang (Florida)
Phillip Knowles (North Florida)
Alvaro Ortiz Becerra (Arkansas)
Grant Hirschman (Oklahoma)
Steven Fisk (Ga. South)
Braden Bailey (Baylor)