Three Bisons earn A-Sun postseason honors
Wednesday, November 1, 2006

Nov. 1, 2006

Three members of the Lipscomb University men's soccer team have earned postseason honors from the Atlantic Sun Conference.

Junior forward Ben Page, from Woodstock, Ga., was named to the All A-Sun second team. He started in all 18 games and led the Bisons with seven goals and 15 points. He also had one assist. He also led the team in shots (61), and three game-winning goals. He also was perfect 4-for-4 on penalty kicks.

Page was named Atlantic Sun Offensive Player of the Week. He tied for first in the conference in game-winning goals. He was second in both goals and shots and fourth in shots per game (3.39). He tied for seventh in the conference in points and was ninth in points per game (.83). He tied for sixth in goals per game with .39.

Goalkeeper Danny Prichard, from Tacoma, Wash,, and midfielder Kezi Lara, from Palo Seco, Trinidad and Tobago; were named to the A-Sun All-Freshman Team.

Prichard played and started in 16 games. He was two-time Atlantic Sun Defensive Player of the Week. He allowed 31 goals, an average of 1.97 per game. He made 76 saves, posting a 4-10-2 record with three shutouts.

In the conference Prichard was second in both saves and saves per game (4.75). He tied for third in shutouts and was seventh with a 1.97 goals against average per game.

Lara played in 15 games and started 10. He was second on the team in goals with three. He also had one assists, giving him seven points, which was also second highest on the team. He made 16 shots and scored one game-winning goal in a 4-3 overtime win at Centenary Sept. 8.

Atlantic Sun Conference

2006 Postseason Honors and Awards

Player of the Year: Tommy Krizanovic, Jacksonville

Defensive Player of the Year: Jay Ayres, Belmont

Freshman of the Year: Boris Gatzky, Gardner-Webb

Coach of the Year: Tony Setzer, Gardner-Webb

First Team All-Atlantic Sun

Pos. Name School CL Hometown Academic Major

GK Aaron Johnson Campbell So. St. Charles, Mo. Gov./Pre-Law

D Jay Ayres Belmont Jr. Valrico, Fla. Accounting

D Dirk Dittrich Gardner-Webb So. Moessingen, Germany Sports Management

D Devin Sheppard Campbell Sr. Roxborough, Tobago Pharmacy

MF Boris Gatzky Gardner-Webb Fr. Reutlingen, Germany Undecided

MF Richard Jata Campbell So. Port Richey, Fla. Mass Communication

MF Ian Schinelli Belmont Jr. Naperville, Ill. Accounting

F Richard Godfrey Gardner-Webb Jr. Montego Bay, Jamaica Accounting

F Willy Guadarrama Campbell Jr. Cedar Park, Texas Sport Management

F Tommy Krizanovic Jacksonville Sr. Slavonski Brod, Croatia International Business

F Tanner Wolfe Stetson Jr. Hudson, Fla. Biology

Second Team All-Atlantic Sun

GK Tyler Kettering Gardner-Webb Sr. Xenia, Ohio Health & Wellness

D Ben Dyon Stetson Sr. Barrington, Ill. Business

D Eric Susewind Belmont Jr. Houston, Texas Business Admin.

D Patrik Werner Jacksonville So. Gothenborg, Sweden Undecided

MF Kirk Labusch Stetson So. Brandon, Fla. Information Technology

MF Omar Liendo Mercer Sr. La Paz, Bolivia Business

MF Stephen Oyuga Campbell So. Nairobi, Kenya Computer Science

F Vicente Arze Mercer Jr. Santa Cruz, Bolivia Business

F Anton Axelsson Jacksonville Jr. Vaxjo, Sweden Marketing

F Josh Elliott Campbell Jr. Salisbury, Md. Athletic Training

F Kevin Munz Stetson Fr. Jupiter, Fla. International Business

F Ben Page Lipscomb Jr. Woodstock, Ga. History-Teaching

***Tie in the voting resulted in 12 members selected to the Second Team

Atlantic Sun All-Freshmen Team

MF Boris Gatzky Gardner-Webb Reutlingen, Germany Undecided

D Robert Hodge Stetson Devon, England Undecided

F Kevin Munz Stetson Jupiter, Fla. International Business

MF Set Carpintero Stetson Orlando, Fla. Pre-Medicine

GK Danny Prichard Lipscomb Tacoma, Wash. Pre-Physical Therapy

D Scott Gordon Mercer Boca Raton, Fla. Undecided

MF Kezi Lara Lipscomb Palo Seco, Trinidad & Tobago Business Management

D Matt Hollyoak UNF London, England Graphic Design

MF Vince Petrasso Campbell Woodbridge, Ontario Undecided

D Eddie Munnelly Jacksonville London, England Physical Education

MF Stefan Runeman Jacksonville Jonsered, Sweden Undecided