Men's Tennis, Women's Basketball Honored
Saturday, April 28, 2007

April 28, 2007

MACON, Ga. - Seven Atlantic Sun Conference institutions received public recognition awards from the NCAA for their latest Academic Progress Rate scores. These 12 teams posted multi-year APR scores in the top 10 percent of all squads in their respective sports.

Belmont University led the way for the A-Sun as four programs (men's basketball; men's soccer; men's tennis; women's tennis) garnered public recognition for posting APR scores ranging from 975 to a perfect 1000.

Campbell University placed its women's cross country and women's swimming programs on the list while Lipscomb University landed honors for its men's tennis and women's basketball squads as the only other institutions with multiple teams recognized. Gardner-Webb University (women's tennis), Jacksonville University (men's cross country), Mercer University (men's tennis) and Stetson University (women's crew) also featured programs spotlighted by the NCAA. Second year members University of North Florida and Kennesaw State University were not included in the rankings as they continue their reclassification process.

"These teams prove once again that student-athletes are students first, and many of them are excellent students," said NCAA President Myles Brand. "I want to personally congratulate these teams and their student-athlete who are working hard in their sport and in the classroom and setting a great example for all students."

A total of 839 teams received awards this year representing 217 Division I colleges and university. Of the teams receiving awards for their latest academic performance are 366 men's and mixed teams and 473 women's teams. The men's sports with the highest number of teams garnering public recognition are golf (51), cross country (49) and tennis (40). The women's sports with the highest number of teams receiving awards are tennis (64), volleyball (54) and golf (52).

The 12-member league headquartered in Macon, Ga., consists of Belmont, Campbell, ETSU, Gardner-Webb, Jacksonville, Kennesaw State, Lipscomb, Mercer, UNF and Stetson with Florida Gulf Coast and USC Upstate beginning competition in 2007-08.