Cardenas shines as men's tennis competes in Dale Short Shootout
Sunday, September 24, 2017
By Russell Vannozzi
Cardenas shines as men's tennis competes in Dale Short Shootout

MURFREESBORO, Tenn.- The Lipscomb men’s tennis team opened its 2017-18 season with the Dale Short Shootout this weekend, producing a mixed bag of results.

“We wanted to get exposure but also improve as a team,” Lipscomb head coach Geoff Hernandez said. “We were a better team Sunday than we were on Friday.”

Senior Daniel Cardenas stole the show by going 3-0 in singles play, while also picking up a doubles victory against a duo from UAB. The Columbian went three sets in each of his singles matches, defeating Nicolas Bitrago (MT), Timo Kiesslich (APSU) and Anru Fourie (UAB).

“(Cardenas) has put in the work to build up his legs and that helped him win some three-set (matches),” Hernandez said. “He may not have been playing his best, but he was able to outlast his opponents.”

Freshman David Skrabut and Pedro Uribe each picked up their first career singles on Saturday. Skrabut downed Austin Peay's Evan Bottorff (2-6, 6-2, 6-4), while Uribe defeated Austin Peay's Aleh Drobysh (6-4, 6-0).

“It’s good for the freshmen to get their first win,” Hernandez said. “(Uribe) really competed well in all three of his singles matches. (Skrabut) still needs to keep proving himself, but he’s been working hard.”

While the Bisons had some success in singles play, the team only won two of their nine doubles matches. Victor Chaw and Jorge Ortegon defeated Austin Peay’s duo of Christian Edison and Almantas Ozelis (6-4) on Saturday. Cardenas and Uribe took down UAB’s Fourie and Kenton Patron by a score of 6-3 on Sunday.

“Our big focus was having energy (in doubles),” Hernandez said. “We did the controllable things well. If our players keep bringing their energy, we’ll be okay.”

Senior Alejandro Manzanares was held out of the tournament, but he is healthy and will make his season debut at Vanderbilt next weekend.

“We wanted him to play the other four fall tournaments,” Hernandez said. “It was just a matter of (tournament) dates, so we’re saving him for next week.”


The Bisons will stay close to home again next weekend by taking part in the Commodore Scramble at Vanderbilt University. A full schedule and preview will be available on later this week.


Day 1: vs. Middle Tennessee (September 22, 2017)


  1. Gian Issa (MTSU) def. Victor Chaw (LU) 7-5, 6-4
  2. Max Rauch (MTSU) def. Jorge Ortegon (LU) 6-4, 6-3
  3. Daniel Cardenas (LU) def. Nicolas Buitrago (MTSU) 5-7, 7-5, 1-0 (10-8)
  4. Luis Morillo Diaz (MTSU) def. Pedro Uribe (LU) 6-1, 6-2
  5. Chris Edge (MTSU) def. George Wong (LU) 6-2, 2-6, 7-5
  6. Jacob Pugh (MTSU) def. David Skrabut (LU) 2-6, 6-4, 7-5


  1. Chris Edge/Max Rauch (MTSU) def. Victor Chaw/Jorge Ortegon (LU) 6-4
  2. Nicolas Buitrago/Gian Issa (MTSU) def. Daniel Cardenas/Pedro Uribe (LU) 6-3
  3. Luis Morillo Diaz/Jacob Pugh (MTSU) def. David Skrabut/George Wong (LU) 6-3

Day 2: vs. Austin Peay (September 23, 2017)


  1. Victor Chaw (LU) def. Almantas Ozelis (APSU) 6-2, 1-6, 6-0
  2. Christian Edison (APSU) def. Jorge Ortegon (LU) 6-4, 6-2
  3. Daniel Cardenas (LU) def. Timo Kiesslich (APSU) 4-6, 6-1, 6-2
  4. Pedro Uribe (LU) def. Aleh Drobysh (APSU) 6-4, 6-0
  5. Chad Woodham (APSU) def. George Wong (LU) 6-3, 4-6, 6-3
  6. David Skrabut (LU) def. Evan Bottorff (APSU) 2-6, 6-2, 6-4


  1. Victor Chaw/Jorge Ortegon (LU) def. Christian Edison/Almantas Ozelis (APSU) 6-4
  2. Aleh Drobysh/Timo Kiesslich (APSU) def. Daniel Cardenas/Pedro Uribe (LU) 6-1
  3. Jacob Lorino/Chad Woodham (APSU) def. David Skrabut/George Wong (LU) 6-2

Day 3: vs. UAB (September 24, 2017)


  1. Tim Dollman (UAB) def. Victor Chaw (LU) 7-5, 6-3
  2. Stefan Gonzalez (UAB) def. Jose Ortegon (LU) 6-4, 2-6, 7-6 (5)
  3. Daniel Cardenas (LU) def. Anru Fourie (UAB) 6-2, 4-6, 6-3
  4. Giovani Pasini (UAB) def. Pedro Uribe (LU) 4-6, 6-3, 10-6
  5. Kenton Parton (UAB) def. George Wong (LU) 6-4, 6-4
  6. Marlon Georing (UAB) def. David Skrabut (LU) 6-1, 6-4


  1. Tim Dollman/Stefan Gonzalez (UAB) def. Victor Chaw/Jose Ortegon (LU) 6-3
  2. Daniel Cardenas/Pedro Uribe (LU) def. Anru Fourie/Kenton Patron (UAB) 6-3
  3. Nikolai Manchen/Henry Paiste (UAB) def. David Skrabut/George Wong (LU) 6-2