Skip to main content

Men's Track & Field > News

Taylor announces Lipscomb track & field team honors
Wednesday, June 23, 2010
Taylor announces Lipscomb track & field team honors
Lipscomb Bisons and Lady Bisons track and field coach Bill Taylor has announced his team awards for the 2010 season.

“We had another record-setting year,” Taylor said. “Forty different school records were set in either Indoor Track or Outdoor Track & Field.

“The men finished a program best fourth place in the outdoor ASUN conference meet. The men’s DMR team set a new ASUN Indoor record. Ryan Chastain became the first ever Lipscomb man to win a conference championship (along with Isaiah Greer, Bobby Bassett and Andrew Jones in the Distance Medley Relay)…and he won three this year. Both teams scored more points at the conference meets than ever before. “

The awards are:


Men – Cormac Carolan-Tolbert (So. – Peachtree City, Ga.) “Cormac improved dramatically this season in every race from 400m to 5,000m, setting PR’s in all of them,” Taylor said.

Women – Louisa Van Batavia (So.– Burns, Ore.) “Louisa moved from being a middle distance runner last year, setting huge PR’s in the 1500m and 3000m, to rising up in the 5000m this year setting big PR’s, posting the top 5K time on the team for the season and really leading the way for the women,” Taylor said.


Men – Isaiah Greer (Fr. – Johnson City, Tenn.) “Isaiah has the mind and heart of an athlete,” Taylor said. “Whatever the race, he stepped up and everyone knew he gave his all. He is an incredibly tough athlete who is an incredible example to the whole team of what taking the fight to the race can do.

“As an example, Isaiah ran three events at the A-Sun Conference meet, where he went 1:57 for 800m; 4:00 for 1500m then broke 16 in the 5000m and finished as the second Lipscomb guy in the 5k.”

Women – (tie) Meredith McFarlin (Fr. - Germantown, Tenn.) and Catherine Beals (So.– Glasgow, Ky.) “Meredith showed toughness throughout the season, but it was most apparent at the A-Sun Conference Championships,” Taylor said. “Leading the 3000m steeplechase at about 1200m, Meredith tripped over a barrier hard, crashed to the ground, hit the metal curbing and lost a shoe. Somehow she got back up, got going again in dead last, ran the rest of the steeplechase with one shoe, and still ran down runners to finish eighth and score a point for the team.

“ Catherine just always shows toughness. She is the most likely woman on the team to push the pace, take chances and show courage. She will hammer herself because her desire to succeed is so high.”


Men – Andrew Shankles (Sr.– Knoxville, Tenn.) “Andrew is one of those rare guys that care 100 times more for his teammates than he does for himself,” Taylor said. “He has been a team captain for three years, led the Spiritual Direction team and was the loudest and most consistent motivator and encourager from within the team.”

Women – (tie) Caitlin Anderson (Jr. – Franklin, Tenn.) and Jenny Randolph (Jr. – Knoxville, Tenn.) “Caitlin and Jenny are the team captains and act as a leadership team taking care of the whole women’s team,” Taylor said.


Men – Andrew Shankles (Sr.– Knoxville, Tenn.) “Again, Andrew just cares about everyone and would give anything to anyone who needed it,” Taylor said.

Women – Emily Longden (Fr. – Jacksonville, Fla.) “Emily, a varsity soccer player for Lipscomb, walked onto the track team and immediately blended in with the team and showed them how much she cares for others,” Taylor said.


Men – Burton Elrod (Sr.– Nashville, Tenn.) “Burton has worked for several years to get the chance to compete this season,” Taylor said. “Not only did he get to compete, he chose to go after the toughest event in track & field, the decathlon. Burton worked tirelessly at all the events, which culminated in five event PR’s at the ASUN Championships and a surprise third place All-Conference finish.”

Women – Catherine Beals (So. – Glasgow, Ky.) “Catherine wants herself and her team to succeed so badly that she does everything possible to put herself in the best place possible,” Taylor said. “ She works hard in practice, does the little things away from practice, and is courageous in competition, willing to push the pace and give herself and her team a chance at reaching the next level.”


Men – Isaiah Greer (Fr. – Johnson City, Tenn.) “Isaiah set the tone for the team,” Taylor said. “He broke the existing school record for 1500m in the same race that Ryan Chastain shattered it. Isaiah set huge PR’s in the 800m, 1500m, 3000m and 5000m, led off the A-Sun Indoor Conference DMR that set a conference record, and he was a workhorse at the outdoor conference championships. “

Women – Brittany Duerk (Fr. – Auburn, Ala.) “Brittany walked on after completing her season with the Lady Bisons ‘ basketball team,” Taylor said. “She immediately made an impact in the throws, winning the Vanderbilt Invite with a new school record throw in the javelin, and leading the conference for much of the season. She capped her season with a third place All-Conference finish in the javelin.”


Men – Ryan Chastain (Sr. – Mitchell, Ind.) “There was no question that Ryan would earn this award,” Taylor said. “Ryan set 11 school records, including a pair that had stood since 1969. He won A-Sun titles in the indoor mile and DMR, and the outdoor 1500m, and was the high point scorer for the men’s team at both meets.

“He served as a team captain, a member of the Spiritual Direction team and was awarded the Byers Award as the top male athlete at Lipscomb University for 2009-10. He graduated with an Engineering degree and earned all A-Sun Academic honors every semester.”

Women – Amanda Twigg (Fr.– Cumberland , Md.) “Amanda really led the way for the women’s track team, setting school records in the indoor 800m, mile, 4x400 and DMR, and the outdoor 800m, mile, 4x400 and DMR,” Taylor said. “She won several races and was a consistent top performer for the team all season long.”


Priya Pappu – Indoor DMR (3rd team)

Emily Longden – Indoor DMR (3rd team)

Sara Stephens – Indoor DMR (3rd team)

Amanda Twigg – Indoor DMR (3rd team)

Isaiah Greer – Indoor DMR (1st team)

Bobby Bassett – Indoor DMR (1st team)

Andrew Jones – Indoor DMR (1st team)

Ryan Chastain – Indoor DMR (1st team)

Ryan Chastain – Indoor Mile (1st team)

Ryan Chastain – Indoor 5000m (3rd team)

Ryan Chastain – Outdoor 1500m (1st team)

Xavier Conley – Outdoor Long Jump (3rd team)

Burton Elrod – Outdoor Decathlon (3rd team)

Caitlin Anderson – Outdoor 3000m Steeplechase (3rd team)

Brittany Duerk – Outdoor Javelin (3rd team)


Adam Austin, Kevin Bass, Jared Carlson, Cormac Carolan, Ryan Chastain, Burton Elrod, Ben Fennell, Isaiah Greer, Hunter Hethcoat, Jeff Hoover, Alex Jerkins, Mike Knox, Brock Lutes, Chad Martin, Steven Mason, Tim Muller, Jeff Musick, Ryan Powell, Austin Ray, Logan Ray, Benton Reed, Andrew Shankles, Ben Wright, Paul Wright, Mike Yang Caitlin Anderson, Catherine Beals, Brittany Duerk, Paloma Floden, Ashley Lehman, Emily Longden, Jessi Marshall, Shelby Marvel, Taylor Mason, Meredith McFarlin, Priya Pappu, Anika Piorkowski, Jenny Randolph, Shannon Shoemake, Rachel Smith, Amanda Twigg, Courtney Watts, Valerie Winkler.


Men – Ryan Chastain, Benton Reed, Andrew Shankles, Steven Mason, Burton Elrod

Women – Caitlin Anderson, Jenny Randolph

“We had a lot of fun and laughs, we did community service projects every four to six weeks to impact the community in a positive way, both teams set the bar far higher in terms of athletic performance, and we excelled in the classroom again,” Taylor said. “ It’s another wonderful step forward as we continue our quest to be one of the top NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Cross Country and Track & Field program in the nation in every single way.

“It was the best year yet. I really enjoyed this past year and am really looking forward to continuing our rapid progress in the years to come. “