Men's Track and Field Earns USTFCCCA All-Academic
Wednesday, August 10, 2011
By Colby Wilson
Men's Track and Field Earns USTFCCCA All-Academic

NEW ORLEANS, La. – The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced the 2011 Men's All-Academic squads, Wednesday, with 90 Division I schools earning the prestigious nod. The Lipscomb men’s squad was once again honored for its high academic rating, finishing tied for eighth in the nation with a team GPA of 3.37.

“Our men’s and women’s teams have earned high academic honors every year I’ve been here, including one season as the top GPA at the Division I level,” said head coach Bill Taylor. “I’m proud our men continue the tradition of year-to-year academic excellence as a team.”

BYU won the Indoor track and field scholar team of the year, while Florida State was the Outdoor recipient. In terms of GPA, the Bisons were ahead of both of these institutions, as well as historically strong academic institutions such as Brown, Cornell, Columbia and Princeton.

Overall, the University of Richmond reported the highest team GPA (3.51) through the spring 2011 semester.

Lipscomb finished tied for eighth in the nation with Rice University and Santa Clara. Notable schools finishing ahead of Lipscomb were Harvard, Yale, Duke and Stanford.

The spring semester was a tremendous one of academic achievement for the men’s track team. Twenty-one of 24 student-athletes earned Academic All-Conference honors for the spring semester, including five (Ben Fennell, Jeffrey Hoover, Geoff Musick, Austin Ray and Ben Wright) who earned 4.0’s.

“These rankings are great for our athletes and for our program, because it shows that we are very serious about excellence in all aspects of our lives,” said Taylor. “The men’s team should be very proud of their academic achievements and I know they will prepare to do as well or better in the upcoming year.”

The Bisons were joined as an All-Academic squad by ETSU as the only two Atlantic Sun squads to earn the distinction.

The women’s team will be announced, Thursday.