Top 10 of 11-12: Women's XC claims first A-Sun title

Friday, July 27, 2012

NASHVILLE, Tenn. --   Oct. 29, 2011 will go down in Lipscomb Athletics as a red-letter day as the Lady Bisons Cross Country team brought home the first Atlantic Sun Championship in school history.

Hitting the course on a crisp fall morning with the leaves changing colors, the Lady Bisons stampeded to the win on their home Vaughn’s Gap course at Percy Warner Park.  Lipscomb placed six runners in the top-20.  Then sophomore Tessa Hoefle led the way for LU with a fifth-place finish in 17:58.30s.

Hoefle was followed by senior Ashley Lehman with a personal best 17:58.40s in her final A-Sun championship race.

Lipscomb head coach Bill Taylor picked up A-Sun “Coach of the Year” honors with the Lady Bisons’ first conference title.