Skip to main content

Volleyball > News

Lady Bisons, Eagles Tangle in Match of the Week
Friday, October 3, 2008
Lady Bisons, Eagles Tangle in Match of the Week

MACON, Ga. - Lipscomb and FGCU will face off on Saturday evening inside Lipscomb's Allen Arena in the Atlantic Sun Match of the Week. The Lady Bisons handed the Eagles their only conference loss in 2007, a 3-2 thriller also at Allen Arena.

Neither squad has dropped an A-Sun match in six outings, and FGCU has only surrendered two sets against conference competition. Both teams enter the weekend on substantial winning streaks as well, with the Lady Bisons winners of seven straight and FGCU six in a row. Saturday's clash represents the first meeting between the two schools since Lipscomb ended the Eagles perfect conference season in Nashville last season.

The Eagles have been dominant in A-Sun matches this season, hitting .316 as a team and limiting opponents to a .146. Four Eagles are in the top-10 in A-Sun hitting percentage, led by senior middle hitter Audrey Campbell at .419 against A-Sun competition. Fellow seniors Ana Kokanovic and Roberta Santos also help power the Eagle attack. Kokanovic, the reigning A-Sun Player of the Year, ranks third in the league, averaging 3.50 kills per set. Santos, a 2007 First-Team All A-Sun performer, averages 9.55 assists per set, tops in the conference.

A pair of sophomores lead the way for Lipscomb in two-time reigning A-Sun Player of the Week Alex Kelly and 2007 A-Sun Championship MVP Jake Pease. Kelly paces the Lady Bisons attack averaging 3.76 kills per set, while hitting .348. The Kansas City native is a defensive force as well, collecting 50 blocks on the season, an average of almost one per set. Pease ably directs the Lady Bisons offense, and leads the league with 520 assists, averaging 9.68 per set against A-Sun foes.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life, with a focus on academic and athletic integrity and a balance between the two for the student-athlete, and maintaining a high level of sportsmanship. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun encompasses six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun consists of some of the most dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.