Skip to main content

Volleyball > News

Pease wins A-Sun Tourney MVP Award
Saturday, November 21, 2009
Pease wins A-Sun Tourney MVP Award
FORT MYERS, Fla. _ Lipscomb Lady Bisons’ setter Stefine “Jake” Pease isn’t all that concerned about awards.

She has won her share, but the Lady Bisons Atlantic Sun Tournament Championship trophy meant far more to her Saturday than her tournament Most Valuable Player honor. It was the second time that Pease has won the tournament MVP award. She also received it in 2007, the last time the Lady Bisons won the tournament title.

“It’s nice to win,” said Pease. “Setters don’t get recognized a lot. We are in the background.

“These girls are so focused on the task at hand. They put in so much. It is nice that they are recognized.

“My job is to set the hitters. If I didn’t have all of my teammates to help me do my job this award wouldn’t have happened.”

Lady Bisons coach Brandon Rosenthal isn’t shy when it comes to his description of Pease.

“It is awesome that she has been recognized,” said Rosenthal. “It is very well deserved.

“She is the best setter around, hands down. There is so much about her that she brings to the court.”

The tournament MVP award also gives the Lady Bisons a clean sweep in individual honors. Kelly was named the Atlantic Sun Player of the Year for the second year in a row. Rosenthal was named Atlantic Sun Coach of the Year.

“I think when you get into voting with the season we had that Alex and Jake were on a lot of ballots for player of the year,” said Rosenthal. “We don’t know the exact numbers of it, but it was probably pretty close.

Joining Pease on the All-Tournament Team were junior middle hitter Alex Kelly and senior opposite Erin Pierce.

“These girls are so focused on the task at hand. They put in so much. It is nice that they are recognized.”

All-Academic: Eight Lady Bisons were recognized for A-Sun All-Academic honors when their names were announced during pre-match ceremonies.

Earning the awards were Kaley Mohr, Elly Kaiser, Kelsey Neumann, Katie Rose, Amy Trykowski, Pease, Pierce and Kelly.

Written by Mark McGee, Senior Publisher/Director of Media Relations