Bartsokas Named A-Sun Female Student-Athlete of the Year
Wednesday, June 8, 2011
Bartsokas Named A-Sun Female Student-Athlete of the Year

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Lipscomb’s Jenna Bartsokas captured the Atlantic Sun Conference Female Student-Athlete of the Year honors, the conference announced on Wednesday.  She is the first Lipscomb student-athlete to earn the prestigious honor.

A senior guard and four-year starter for the Lady Bisons basketball team, Bartsokas finishes her Lipscomb career as the second leading scorer in the Division I Era with 1,411 points by averaging 11.9 points per game. She also stands second in career assists (295) and eight in rebounds (342). Her senior season, Bartsokas averaged 14.9 PPG – fifth in the A-Sun – en route to earning Second Team All-Conference honors.

“I can think of no more deserving winner of this award than Jenna Bartsokas,” Lipscomb Director of Athletics Philip Hutcheson said.  “Her hard work in the classroom and on the court has made her a tremendous ambassador for Lipscomb University for all four of the years that she has been here, and by her example, she has raised the bar for all of our student-athletes in the years to come.

“As good as her career at Lipscomb has been, I am confident that the best is yet to come for Jenna, and we could not be more proud of her for earning this well-deserved recognition.”

Bartsokas, an Exercise Science major, kept a 3.95 overall GPA during her four years at Lipscomb and recorded a perfect 4.0 GPA in six semesters. A member of the Alpha Chi Honor Society, she has been accepted in the Doctoral Program for Physical Therapy at Walsh University. Along with earning four A-Sun All-Academic honors throughout her career, Bartsokas was named an Academic All-American Third Team honoree in 2011 and is a two-time Academic All-District member. In May, Bartsokas received a $7,500 Postgraduate Scholarship from the NCAA.

Atlantic Sun Commissioner Ted Gumbart presents Jenna's award to Lipscomb Faculty Athletics Representative Dr. Kent Johnson
"If you've had the pleasure of watching Jenna play basketball, you know she respects the game, respects her opponents and competes the right way," Atlantic Sun Commissioner Ted Gumbart said. "Add her academic and civic accomplishments to that, and it's clear that she upholds the Atlantic Sun value of Building Winners for Life."

ETSU’s Paul Hoilman received Atlantic Sun Conference Male Student-Athlete of the Year honor becoming the fourth male to receive the accolade in back-to-back years.

The awards were announced at the league’s annual administrative meetings during a ceremony that also saw the presentation of the league’s All-Sports Trophies and Post-Graduate Scholarship.

Bartsokas is the conference nominee for the NCAA Women of the Year Award. The NCAA Woman of the Year Award honors graduating student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, community service and leadership.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts five of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.