Bartsokas receives Atlantic Sun Postgraduate Scholarship
Wednesday, June 8, 2011
Bartsokas receives Atlantic Sun Postgraduate Scholarship
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - Lipscomb’s Jenna Bartsokas received a 2011 Atlantic Sun Postgraduate Scholarship, announced Wednesday by the league office. Bartsokas becomes the first Lipscomb student-athlete to receive the scholarship from the A-Sun.
A senior guard and four-year starter for the Lady Bisons basketball team, Bartsokas finishes her Lipscomb career as the second leading scorer in the D-I Era with 1,411 points by averaging 11.9 points per game. She also stands second in career assists (295) and eight in rebounds (342). Her senior season, Bartsokas averaged 14.9 PPG – fifth in the A-Sun – en route to earning Second Team All-Conference honors.

Bartsokas, an Exercise Science major, kept a 3.95 overall GPA during her four years at Lipscomb and recorded a perfect 4.0 GPA in six semesters. A member of the Alpha Chi Honor Society, she has been accepted in the Doctoral Program for Physical Therapy at Walsh University. Along with earning four A-Sun All-Academic honors throughout her career, Bartsokas was named an Academic All-American Third Team honoree in 2011 and is a two-time Academic All-District member. In May, Bartsokas received a $7,500 Postgraduate Scholarship from the NCAA.

North Florida’s Will Pearce received the Atlantic Sun Male Postgraduate Scholarship.

The scholarship winners were announced at the league’s annual administrative meetings during a ceremony that also saw the presentation of the league’s All-Sports Trophies and Student-Athlete of the Year Awards.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts five of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.