Lady Bisons finish second in A-Sun Championships
Saturday, October 30, 2010
Lady Bisons finish second in A-Sun Championships
The Lipscomb Lady Bisons, led by freshman Dani Walker, finished second in the Atlantic Sun Conference Championships Saturday morning in Spartanburg, S.C.

It was the best finish ever for the Lady Bisons in the A-Sun Championships. Their previous best was a fourth place finish in 2008.

North Florida won the championship with a team score of 55. The Lady Bisons finished 18 points behind.

Walker was the fourth highest finisher in the race completing the course in 17:54.50. She earned the A-Sun Freshman of the Year award for her efforts. It was also the best individual finish in an A-Sun Championship for the Lady Bisons in the history of the program.

Walker was one of four Lipscomb runners to finish in the top 20. Junior Ashley Lehman was 11th with a time of 18:03.24.

Freshman Alex Newby finished 13th with a time of 18:10.22. Junior Louisa Van Batavia was 19th with a time of 18:22.88.

Walker was named First Team All-A-Sun. Lehman and Newby were named to the A-Sun All-Conference Second Team.

Walker and Newby were also named to the All-Freshman Team.

Sophomore Shelby Marvel (26th, 18:38.68), sophomore Priya Pappu (27th, 18:40.75) and freshman Tessa Hoefle (29th, 18:44.41) rounded out the top 30.

Freshman Courtney Thomas was 32nd with a time of 18:47.84. Junior Catherine Beals cross the line in 49th place with a time of 19:29.34.

The race was sponsored by USC Upstate.