Skip to main content

Women's Cross Country > News

Cross country set for NCAA South Regional
Thursday, November 14, 2019
By Logan Butts
Cross country set for NCAA South Regional

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - The Lipscomb cross country squad continues its postseason run on Friday morning as the Bisons head to Tallahassee, Florida for the NCAA South Regional. 

The women’s 6k race will kick things off at 7:30 a.m. central time at Apalachee Regional Park, with the men’s 10k race to follow at 8:30. 

The race will be streamed live on FloTrack with live results available as well.  

Any other meet information can be found here.

The Bisons will be facing stout competition in the race as the men’s side features three nationally-ranked squads (Ole Miss, Middle Tennessee, and Alabama) and the women’s competition features two (hosts Florida State and Ole Miss). 

In the most recent USTFCCCA South Region Poll, the men were ranked seventh and the women were slotted at 10th. 

Lipscomb will be sending 15 runners to the meet. The men’s squad will be comprised of Brent Leber, Ronald Kigen, Zach Israel, Scott McKenzie, Patrick Smith, Sam Shaylor, and Brady Johnson. The women will be running with Brooke Kingma, Grace Lahey, Hannah Owens, Lauren Flynt, Grace Oetting, Haley Kling, and Ayse Allison. 

Last year at the Regional, the women finished an ASUN-best 10th-place overall with Courtney Brenner turning in an All-Region performance thanks to a 19th-place finish out of 208 runners. The men finished 14th, which was the second-best mark of any ASUN school. 



The Bisons dominated the ASUN Championship, taking home the men’s and women’s titles and securing the men’s individual crown. 

The women won their second consecutive title and eighth in the past nine seasons, the most of any program in conference history. 

The men won their title by a single point, and Leber took home the individual championship with a time of 24:17.54.

Kingma, Lahey, Owens, and Flynt earned First-Team All-Conference spots for the women, while Kigen was the Freshman of the Year and joined Leber on the First Team for the men. 

Oetting notched a Second-Team All-Conference spot on the women’s side, as did Israel, McKenzie, and Smith for the men’s side.