August 21, 20151st2nd1OT 2OT Final
LIPAnna Buhigas110:0006
UTJulie Eckel110:0004
Stats at a GlanceLIPUT
Shots (on Goal)16 (4) 27 (7)
Corner Kicks46
Yellow Cards21
Women's soccer kicks off regular season at Tennessee
Thursday, August 20, 2015
By Logan Butts
Women's soccer kicks off regular season at Tennessee

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – The Lipscomb women’s soccer team will be travelling to Knoxville to face the Tennessee Vols on Friday for the opening game of the 2015 campaign. 

The meeting will be the first between the two squads since Lipscomb joined Division I.

After a 2014 season that saw the Lady Bisons compile a program-best record of 10-7-2, including a 4-2-1 record that placed them second in the Atlantic Sun, expectations are high heading into the 2015 season opener.

Scouting the Vols:

In 2014, the Vols finished with an overall record of 10-10-2 and a SEC record of 4-4-0.

After a late-season surge that saw an upset of 21st-ranked Missouri, Tennessee knocked off Alabama and 8th-ranked Florida to reach the semifinals of the SEC Tournament for the first time in program history.

For the third straight season senior Hannah Wilkinson was named to the watch list for the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy, the most prestigious individual award in college soccer. Over the summer, she competed for the New Zealand Women’s National Team at the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Quick Hits:  

  • The Lady Bisons finished the preseason on Sunday with a 3-0 defeat over Battle of the Boulevard rival Belmont. In the match, seniors Elizabeth Ashwood and Molly Bray and sophomore Jade Abarca all notched goals. Goalkeepers Anna Buhigas and Kate Mason combined for the shutout in net. In the first game of the preseason, Lipscomb tied UAB 0-0 in Birmingham.
  • Juniors Carolyn Springsteen and Ellen Lundy were named to the preseason A-Sun All-Conference Team, as voted by the league coaches. In the coaches’ poll, Lipscomb was picked to finish third, a spot in which they tied with Kennesaw State. Both teams received 46 points and a first place vote in the poll.
  • At the conclusion of the 2014 season, the Lady Bisons had six players named to the A-Sun All-Conference teams, including four returning players. In addition to being named the A-Sun Goalkeeper of the Year, Anna Buhigas earned a spot on the All-Conference First Team. Jade Abarca joined Buhigas on the First Team and Carolyn Springsteen was named to the Second team. Abarca and Emily Rogers were voted onto the All-Freshman team.
  • Despite falling to Kennesaw State 1-0 in double overtime in the first game of the 2014 A-Sun Tournament, returning senior defender Emily Shuler was named to the All-Tournament Team.

The game will be streaming on the SEC Network/WatchESPN at 6:00 p.m.