Twigg earns first A-Sun weekly award
Wednesday, March 17, 2010
Twigg earns first A-Sun weekly award
MACON, Ga. – Lipscomb’s Amanda Twigg bested a field of 43 to earn Atlantic Sun Track Athlete of the Week honors while Kennesaw State’s Jakia Ragland knocked off a field of 33 to earn a high jump title and A-Sun Field Athlete of the Week accolades.

Twigg continued her terrific freshman season as a Lady Bison by picking up two wins for Lipscomb at the Birmingham Southern Invitational. Despite windy and cold conditions, the education major beat a field of 43 women in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:18.13. Later the freshman education major helped lead the 4x400-meter to a team to victory as well, running a 58-second split.

Twigg already owns three wins in the outdoor season, posting a win in the 1500-meter run two weekends ago at UNF.

Ragland, a senior accounting major, won the high jump at the Owls 2010 Outdoor track and Field debut, the Asics Coastal Carolina Invitational in Conway, S.C., Saturday with a top clearance of 1.65 meters, to better all of her competitors in the 33-woman event.

Fans can follow the Atlantic Sun on Twitter and on Facebook. Visit to begin receiving updates on conference news, weekly awards, and from A-Sun championships. Atlantic Sun followers with a Facebook account can become a "fan" of the conference by visiting

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.