Skip to main content

Men's Basketball > News

Mathews Honored on USBWA All-District Team
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
By Kirk Downs
Mathews Honored on USBWA All-District Team

ST. LOUIS – Already named the ASUN Player of the Year, Lipscomb senior guard Garrison Mathews has been named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District IV team, encompassing student-athletes from Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia and Florida.

Tennessee forward Grant Williams was selected as the USBWA District IV Player of the Year and Tennessee coach Rick Barnes was named the District IV Coach of the Year.  

Joining Mathews and Williams on the all-district team are Jordan Bone, Tennessee; Tyler Herro, Kentucky; Ja Morant, Murray State; Jordan Nwora, Louisville; Admiral Schofield, Tennessee; Breein Tyree, Ole Miss; PJ Washington, Kentucky; Quinndary Weatherspoon, Mississippi State; and Dylan Windler, Belmont.

Mathews led the ASUN Conference in scoring for a second straight season with 20.1 ppg. He became Lipscomb’s all-time leading scorer (2,350) and three-point shooter (342) in the NCAA era, while also setting the ASUN’s all-time three-point record and climbing to third on their scoring list.

The Franklin, Tennessee native posted a league-high 18 games of 20+ points and averaged 5.1 rebounds per contest.

He helped lead Lipscomb to its third ASUN regular season championship and a program NCAA record 25 wins this season.

Mathews is the first Bison to ever claim USBWA All-District honors.