Skip to main content

Men's Track & Field > News

Track & field earns four individual titles on day two of ASUN Championships
Saturday, February 29, 2020
By Logan Butts
Track & field earns four individual titles on day two of ASUN Championships

LYNCHBURG, Va. - The Lipscomb track and field squad closed out the 2020 ASUN Indoor Championships on Saturday with an impressive effort, taking home four individual ASUN titles and a number of all-conference spots. 

Senior Courtney Brenner followed up yesterday’s 3000m title with a 5000m title, giving her the top point total to earn the Most Valuable Female Performer honor. 

Junior Brent Leber had a dominant win in the men’s 5000m, breaking the ASUN record with a time of 14:04.75, finishing a full 13 seconds ahead of second place. 

Lipscomb had five of the top nine in the race, with senior Zach Israel (14:33.49), senior Owen Glogovsky (14:51.69), junior Sam Shaylor (14:51.94), and junior Patrick Smith (14:51.94) finishing in fourth, seventh, eighth, and ninth. 

The women’s 5000m was also heavily Purple and Gold. Brenner defended her 2019 title with a win, finishing in 16:40.69. Sophomore Grace Oetting also earned a podium spot in second place with a time of 17:09.41. 

Lipscomb also had the fifth, sixth, and seventh place finishers: junior Kayla Rudie (17:39.42), junior Grace Lahey (17:41.36), and sophomore Lindsay Marriott (17:51.05). 

Junior Jonathan Schwind went back-to-back in the 800m, putting up a 1:51.87 mark. Two more Bisons finished in the top 10, as sophomore Ryan Bush (1:53.37) was fourth and freshman Lewis Ngwenya (1:54.72) was eighth. 

Junior Jonathan Imes improved on his second-place finish in 2019 in the 400m, blazing to a first-place spot with a time of 48.01 seconds. 

Schwind also grabbed a podium spot in the mile run, finishing second in the 4:08.89. Other Bison finishers included a trio of freshmen: Scott McKenzie (4:16.94), Brady Johnson (4:17.40), and Ronald Kigen (4:29.30) in seventh, eighth, and 10th. 

Imes also grabbed a second podium spot by taking third place in the 200m in 21.59 seconds. Junior Grant Mason was close behind in fourth in 21.65 seconds. 

The men’s 1600m relay squad landed in third place. Demontae Wilson, Nathan Morgan, Imes, and Mason combined for a time of 3:16.78. 

In the women’s mile run, junior Lauren Flynt (4:59.69) was sixth and Lahey (5:00.17) was seventh.  

In the men’s 60m hurdles final, senior Randolph Wilkerson (8.51 seconds) was fifth and junior Jacob Snyder was sixth (8.68 seconds). 

In the men’s 60m final, junior Ahmed Amaar (6.93 seconds) and Mason (6.98 seconds) were fourth and sixth, respectively. 

Snyder placed fifth in the heptathlon with 4319 points. 

In the final team standings, Lipscomb placed third on the men’s side with 86 total points and fourth on the women’s side with 47 total points.